Math 1312

Introduction to Mathematical Reasoning

Section: 16991

Time: MoWeFr 11:00AM - 12:00PM

Classroom: SR 116



Course Web Site: www.math.uh.edu/~irina

Instructor: Irina Perepelitsa

Office: PGH 617

Office HoursMonday: 1:30PM - 3:00PM
                        Thursday: 10:00AM - 12:30PM
                        (MATHLAB, 222 Garrision Gym)
 OR by appointment (email me to set up an appointment).

Email: irina AT math.uh.edu

 

Math 1312 Course Policies

Math 1312 Syllabus

Calendar
Homework
Quizzes

Class Notes

Courseware website

Courseware FAQ

ANNOUNCEMENTS
4/23
Week 15 To-Do List
  1. Homework 17 is due on Thursday, Apr. 24.
  2. Test 3 is on Friday, April 25. Formula sheet will be provided at the test.
4/15
Week 14 To-Do List
  1. Homework 15 is due on Tuesday, Apr. 15.
  2. Homework 16 is due on Saturday, Apr. 19.
4/11
INSTRUCTIONS TO THE STUDENT FOR OPT-OUT

The phrase "exempt yourself from the final" is equivalent to "opt out of the final".

STEP 1.  TEACHER EVALUATION
You must complete teacher evaluation before you can opt-out.
Towards the end of the semester a teacher evaluation link will appear in CourseWare after you log in.  Watch carefully for this
link and complete teacher evaluation BEFORE OPT-OUT. If you wait until the day of opt-out, you may experience delays.

STEP 2.  DROPPING
Note: Dropping will happen only after opt-out starts (see step 4 below).

STEP 3.  PRACTICE TO PREPARE FOR OPT-OUT
Log in to CourseWare.  Go to your course.  Go to the grades page. Click the link at the upper left which says "Click here to see your
letter grade".  This will give you the letter grade calculator. Practice this during the semester, so you'll be ready for opt-out (see step 4 below).

STEP 4.  PROCEDURE FOR OPT-OUT
Opt-out will be April 30 2014 and May 1 2014.
During this time period go to the letter grade calculator as in step 3 above.  If you have a projected grade of at least B-,
there will be a link (upper left) allowing you to opt-out of the final.  Follow the instructions carefully after you click on the link -- there are several
subsequent pages.  On the last page there will be a confirmation code -- you MUST record this confirmation code, either with pen and paper
or by emailing it to yourself.  This will be your ONLY CHANCE to record the confirmation code.  If you don't have the confirmation
code, your opt-out is not guaranteed.  Your instructor DOES NOT need the code, it's for you to keep only.  Do not email the code to your instructor.
4/8
Week 13 To-Do List
  1. Homework 14 is due on Tuesday, Apr. 8.
4/1
Week 12 To-Do List
  1. Homework 13 is due on Tuesday, Apr. 1.
  2. Quiz 8 is due on Saturday, Apr. 5.
3/24
Week 11 To-Do List
  1. Homework 12 is due on Thursday, Mar. 27.
  2. Quiz 7 is due on Saturday, Mar. 29.
3/17
Week 10 To-Do List
  1. Homework 11 is due on Thursday, Mar. 20.
  2. Test 2 in on Friday, Mar. 21.
  3. Quiz 6 is due on Saturday, Mar. 22.
3/3
Week 8 To-Do List
  1. Homework 9 is due on Tuesday, Mar. 4.
  2. Homework 10 is due on Thursday, Mar.6.
  3. Quiz 5 is due on Saturday, Mar. 8.

You may come to my office (PGH 631)  this week during regular office hours to look over your Test 1.
Even though Quizzes 6 - 8 expire after Test 2 you may want to try them before the test for extra practice since they are over the material included in Test 2.

2/25
Week 7 To-Do List
  1. Homework 8 is due on Tuesday, Feb. 25.
  2. Quiz 4 is due on Saturday, Mar. 1.
2/18
Week 6 To-Do List
  1. Quiz 2 AND Quiz 3 are due on Saturday, Feb. 22.
2/11
Week 5 To-Do List
  1. Homework 4 AND Homework 5 is due on Wednesday, Feb. 12.
  2. Homework 6 is due on Friday, Feb. 14.
  3. Print Test 1 Review posted in Class Notes after Section 2.3 and bring it to class on Wednesday.
  4. Note that quizzes 1-8 are open. You may start working on Quiz 2 that is due next week.
  5. Test 1 is on Monday, February 17 in our regular classroom.
    Test 1 is NOT multiple choice, consists of 20 questions plus an extra credit problem.
    You need to have your COUGAR CARD (no test will be accepted without one), calculator, pencil, compass and protractor.
2/3
Week 4 To-Do List
  1. Homework 1 is due on Tuesday, Feb. 4.
  2. Homework 2 is due on Thursday, Feb. 6.
  3. Homework 3 is due on Saturday, Feb. 8.
  4. Quiz 1 expires on Saturday, Feb. 8.
1/27
Week 3 To-Do List
  1. Quiz 0 is due on Saturday, Feb. 1
  2. Bring poppers,  a compass and a protractor to EVERY class.
1/13
Welcome to Math 1312!
You should get familiar with my website and print blank notes for your next class. You can find them under "Class Notes"
(link above)
Start working on Beginning of the Semester TO-DO LIST