
University of Houston Tin Lam

Problem of the Week Fall 2014, Week 5

Problem 5.1: To begin, we will prove a lemma. Consider an m×m board (with m possibly infinite), and
a game where two players, I and II, take turn marking squares, and the first player marks N squares in a
row, column or diagonal wins.

Lemma 1: The second player, II, does not have a winning strategy.

Proof: Suppose player II does have a winning strategy. After player I makes the first move by marking an
arbitrary spot, player I becomes the second player, and can simply execute the winning strategy, and thus
win before player II. So long, player I does not run into the case where he/she needs to mark a now-occupied
spot. However, this does not affect player I’s strategy, as he/she can mark another arbitrary square. The
extra square cannot adversely impact player I in the execution of the winning strategy.

Now we will prove the claim.

Claim 2: A game of a 4× 4 tic-tac-toe will always end in a draw if both players play optimally.

Proof: We know from Lemma 1 that player II does not have a winning strategy. What we need to show is
that player I does not have one either as player II does have a drawing strategy. Up to symmetry, player I
has three possible first moves: (corner, center-square, outer-edge)

× □ □ □
□ # □ □
□ □ □ □
□ □ □ □



□ □ □ □
□ × # □
□ □ □ □
□ □ □ □



□ × □ □
□ # □ □
□ □ □ □
□ □ □ □


Regardless of the position of the first ×, player II can always plaice his # in the inner 4 squares. Note that
there are 10 possible winning possibilities (4 horizontal, 4 vertical, and 2 diagonals). However, once player
II places the #, three of the ten options can no longer allow player I to win, with 14 squares left.

At this point, we can just come up with a matching move strategy. For every move player I makes, maker
II can make a blocking move that close down at least two (possible three) winning options for player I.
Hence, player II can always force a draw by putting a # occupying every possible winning line.

To be more precise, consider the the scenarios above:
× A B A
G # E D
G E F F
C C B D



G D A A
E × # K
F F G K
E D B B



C × A A
E # K F
D K C D
E F B B


If Player I puts an × into the square labeled by the letter Z, Player II can always put a matching # into
the other square label with the same letter Z, causing a draw.
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