Background


Professional Background

I am an Associate Professor in the Mathematics Department at the University of Houston. I do mathematics research, teach undergraduate and graduate courses, and perform service for the UH Math Department and the mathematics community. I also created and direct a math outreach program, called CHAMP.

In my job as a professor I work with undergraduates and graduate students, and I also supervise undergraduate research, Master's theses, Ph.D theses, and postdocs. I am part of the Analysis Research Group in the UH Math Department, and I participate in (and occasionally organize) the department's Analysis Seminar.

My Life Story

I was born and grew up in the small town of Lake City, Minnesota (Photo). Lake City is in southeast Minnesota and famous for being the "Birthplace of Water Skiing". Located along Lake Pepin, the widest point of the Mississippi River, the town supports a thriving sailboat culture, and the town's marina is one of the largest small boat harbors on the Mississippi. Also famous for its apple orchards, Lake City produces one fourth of the apples grown in Minnesota and is the country's largest producer of the Haralson apple.

I attended college at Gustavus Adolphus, a small liberal arts college located in Minnesota. I am a strong believer in the value of a liberal arts education, and I consider it a wonderful foundation for continuing one's education in graduate school and throughout life. I received my Bachelor's Degree in mathematics from Gustavus in 1997, and afterward moved to New Hampshire to begin my graduate work at Dartmouth College .

I spent five enjoyable years at Dartmouth. After earning my Master's Degree in 1999, I chose Functional Analysis and Operator Algebras as my area of specialization and worked on my thesis under the guidance of my advisor, Dana P. Williams. In the Spring of 2002 I received my Ph.D. from Dartmouth, and was also awarded an NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship.

I did my NSF postdoc at the University of Iowa where I worked under the supervision and guidance of my sponsoring scientist, Paul Muhly.

After my NSF postdoc, I took a one-year position at the College of William & Mary, and lived in the scenic and historic city of Williamsburg, Virginia.

In Fall of 2006 I began a tenure-track job at the University of Houston, and I received tenure in Fall 2012. I am currently living in Houston, Texas, the fourth largest city in the U.S.

If you are interested, you can check out my mathematical genealogy. I also have an Erdös number of 4.


Math Buildings in which I have resided:

Olin Hall Bradley Hall MacLean Hall Jones Hall Philip G. Hoffman Hall
Olin Hall
Gustavus Adolphus College
Bradley Hall
Dartmouth College
MacLean Hall
University of Iowa
Jones Hall
College of William & Mary
Philip G. Hoffman Hall
University of Houston


Dr. Tomforde's Vital Information:

Birthplace: Lake City, Minnesota
Zodiac Sign: Capricorn
Hair Color:Brown
Eye Color: Hazel
Shoe Size: 10½
Favorite Color: Burnt Sienna



Back Arrow Back